Cosima’s Latest Worship Binge

shaneshane.jpg

While searching for information on the web for cut or short capo tuning I came across a web site that made an impression on me. What impressed me? Well, the music or should I say the musicians and their obvious gifts and love for the Lord who gave them those gifts.

When you arrive at ShaneandShane.com the first thing you notice is the visual content but after a few moments your senses are (if your sound is up) filled with the sound of guitars and two voices blending and moving together so well you almost can’t tell that these are two different guys, not brothers by the way. It seems like everyone askes them that question.

Blending is at the top of my list of what makes good musicians and Shane Barnard and Shane Everett, play and sing so blended that I was immediately touched by the sounds I heard. Then I heard the contents of the songs, (lyrics like, “there is power in the blood – there is victory in Jesus – help me glory in the cross – help me find my gain in loss). and I was hooked! I went right over to my iTunes application and purchased and burned two of their CD’s, Upstairs and Carry Away.

I haven’t stopped listening! I just keep putting these CD’s on ‘repeat’ and listen over and over. I even took my walkman with me on a two week vacation so I could keep listening. I’ve also started to use the song, Chapter One in our worship sets. After listening to the Shanes I’ve come to the conclusion that I really need to improve my guitar finesse. Wow! these guys can play. They’ve got this *double strumming thing going on and it really puts a new dynamic into the songs.

ShaneandShane.com is underconstruction due to technical difficulties but their front page still automatically plays their stuff. Check out their website and give a listen.

Also, you can go to Scott Cogan’s site (an admirer of Shane and Shane) for more info, lyrics, mp3’s, concerts calendar and more. The ONLY concert date scheduled for California is 10-4-’04 in Modesto. Check out their calendar @: thirdcoastartists.com

Still listening,

Cosima

*”double strumming” is a simple (not easy) technique of strumming twice as fast as the normal strum pattern of the song. Usually used in a short burst kinda like a fill on the drum set. For example if you were strumming at eighth notes 1 & 2 & 3 & but for the forth beat you took 4 e & a in your strumming, then that would be a double strum.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cut Capo, Guitar Tips

Leave a Reply

