If You Tune It They Will Stay!

Quite a few years ago, more then 10, I attended a Calvary Chapel Regional Worship Conference in Vista, California.  Maybe I saw you there.  🙂  I don’t have much recollection of that conference.  I usually leave a conference encouraged and refocused but only remember one or two specifics. There was one thing I remember from that year, the T-shirts.  Doesn’t sound very spiritual, I know but, I was thinking about them again today while rearranging my desk and clearing it of all the Christmas stuff I had collected for our concert.

I don’t know why it crossed my mind as it wandered here and there.  But that T-shirt, graphic and all, was clear as day.  The front of it read, “If you preach it they will come.”  The back…, “If you tune it they will stay.”

Ok, I know that this is far from the truth and, quite frankly, at the time it offended me for the Word’s sake.  It may offend you as well and I don’t want you to think that I agree with the semantics of it.  But, I do agree that a worship team that plays and sings in tune can help keep someone in the pews better than the team that doesn’t. Ministry excellence can make all the difference. Hence, this post.

This is one area I emphasize more than any other with our worship servants.  If we are out of tune (off pitch) in any way it gets corrected quickly ~ immediately, if it occurs during a practice session.  Your worship team may have problems with being in tune.  A voice or a guitar or wind instrument… don’t let it slip.  They will learn to hear the difference and will improve their ear and just be better at what they do and how they sound.  If you want a great sounding worship team, this is a good place to start. Mind you, being in tune won’t make great vocalists or instrumentalist but it will make better ones for sure and that’s a beginning, a good foundation.

 

I’ve included a video here to encourage you further…….  May God bless your service to Him.  

 

 

For instruction in guitar visit Guitartips.com

For instruction in voice visit SingingSuccess.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Guitar Tips, integrity, Videos, Vocal Tips, Worship Leaders Speak, Worship team

Leave a Reply

