Does Live Looping have a place in the worship setting?

I don’t know for sure if this is the best demo for live looping to get my point across since Arthur Lee Land isn’t a worship leader but I couldn’t help myself! This is probably the best live looping demo video I’ve seen that gets explains it simply and clearly.

Live looping may not have to go this far in the worship setting but if you are a lone worship leader this could be a cool way to start the worship set during the call to worship. Songs that might work for this could be songs that have a repeated progression throughout like, Empty Me~Gene Way/ John Gomer or You Alone~Jack Parker/ David Crowder.

I used live looping during our Christmas Concert this year and it went great! I’m still trying to perfect my skills but I hope to be proficient at it enough to use it stealthily.

Talk back and give us some comments on this one. I’d like to know what you’re thinking.

See more of Arthur’s stuff.

3 Comments

Filed under Creative Worship, Gear, Music Education, Resources, Videos

3 responses to “Does Live Looping have a place in the worship setting?

  1. Why wouldn’t looping have a place in worship?

    I must admit that personally I’m not a huge fan of most contemporary technology-oriented music (except Weather Report/Joe Zawinul, Herbie Hancock, etc.). But if it inspires others to worship more wholeheartedly, then why not do it? Especially if, as you mentioned, you are a lone worship leader.

    My only caviat would be that techology should not replace humans, especially at church. God is honored by hearts reaching out to him, not by slick music. (As a musician, it’s taken me quite some time to accept that fact!) It will likely not honor God to fire someone in favor of a synth.

    http://stengel99.wordpress.com

  2. Great input. You’ve given me lots to think about. I agree with you wholeheartedly. After all, it’s not the technology that worships God is it? Rather, the worshipper using technology to bring glory to God in their offering back to God of the gift of music He has given them.

    Just an afterthought here, … I wonder what the great composers (Handel, Mendellsohn, Vivaldi, and others) would have thought about live looping and offering worship to God?.

    Stengel99, your words are well put, I love how the Lord has used you to help us keep things in perspective.

    Thank you for the comment!

  3. Thanks for posting that video – live looping is useful in so many different contexts…

    I have some on my site – enjoyed your blog

    http://www.mattstevensguitar.com

Leave a Reply

