Things I learned from a Honda Civic commercial Part 1:Ducks in a Row

This is the first a several posts I hope to write over the next few weeks on Worship Team Leadership and Team-Work. I was inspired by the following videos. Be sure to watch all four of the videos of The Making of the Honda Civic Choir TV Ad and see why I learned so much.

I hope you enjoy the videos and that you, too, will glean some good worship team building tools for your ministry.

To watch all three videos of The Making of the Honda Civic tv ad  visit this site and click the “watch” option.

Leading a choir or worship team can be as simple or complex as we choose. The final product usually reflects which. We get out what we put in.

While watching the Honda Civic Choir prepare for the TV ad I was challenged and reminded about many things. The first was being organized or “having my ducks in a row.”

Having a plan and preparation makes things so much easier, don’t you think? After all, our perfect example, The Almighty Creator, had a plan from before there was time, didn’t He? (Matthew 25:34) So we would be wise to follow His example.

Before we introduce a new song to our teams and choirs, before we have our first meeting for the “Big Holiday Production,” before we practice or rehearse we should prepare.

The Honda Choir didn’t just come together like the Big Bang Theory. Someone had a vision and communicated it to a team of folks who would help him fulfill that vision. You can see how the planning team hashed out what they wanted and each one understood the direction and expectations for the final outcome.

So, my first lesson taught me to go back and rethink how I prepare before events, services and practices. Make sure I’ve thought through all aspects and have communicated with my pastor and staff involved when needed. Get my plan on paper or do my homework, be sure everything is ready for the team or choir so they can do their part to fulfill the plan. That means making sure the music is ready, (one of my weak areas), in the right key for each musician, etc.. I love the Planning Center because it helps me in these areas.

There you have my first thoughts… until my next post, blessings!

View all Honda Civic TV Ad Posts

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Worship, Honda commercial, Music Education, Videos, Vocal Tips, Worship Education, Worship Leaders Speak, Worship team

Leave a Reply

