Things I learned from a Honda Civic commercial Part 2: Team Work


Be sure to watch the rest of the videos of the making of the Honda Civic Choir TV and see why I learned so much.  After arriving at the Honda Commercial site click the “watch” option and  you’re on your way.

Today I want to look at Teamwork. Teamwork can be defined as the cooperative effort of a team of people for a common end. It implies that each person on the team is doing their part to fulfill the purpose or task given them to do. (Eph. 4:6)

As I watched the videos I considered that there were many parts to the choir. Guy parts, girl parts, and parts within the parts.. (parts are parts) Then, there are the parts of directors, writers, orchestra musicians and parts within the orchestra and so on. Everyone doing their part well made the outcome something that sold others on the idea that driving a Honda Civic would be an exhilarating experience. Didn’t you want to go for a ride?

To lead others into worship takes teamwork. Another definition of teamwork is; joint action by a group of people, in which individual interests are subordinated to group unity and efficiency; coordinated effort.

I cant tell you how many times I hear of musicians and vocalists who have temper tantrums because they don’t get what they want when it comes to being on a team. They don’t want to work together. Their interests have nothing to do with leading people into the presence of God. Their interest lies in serving their own egos. (Phil. 2:4)

I had someone say to me once, “When do I get to sing the songs I want to sing?” Another time a bass player moaned about not getting to “play it his way” and guitarists complaining about “not getting used.” Sound familiar?

Finally, every team needs a leader. Without someone pointing the way how will the team know where to go? (1 Chronicles 16:4-6)

Lesson learned today: Know what part you play on the team and be excellent at it. Lay down your individual interests and seek unity.

 

View other posts of the “Things I learned from a Honda Civic Commercial.

1 Comment

Filed under Honda commercial, integrity, Music Education, Videos, Vocal Tips, Worship Education, Worship Leaders Speak, Worship team

One response to “Things I learned from a Honda Civic commercial Part 2: Team Work

  1. Hi new around town, just wanted to invite you come by my site to get a good laugh about being a team player.
    it’s http://www.drunkdreamer8.word press.com read my lastes post “Onk, Onk, here piggy”

Leave a Reply

